Tuesday, December 10, 2019 4:00:00 PM

(Advice as at 4:00pm NZDT on Tuesday 10 December 2019)

The Australian Federation of Air Pilots and media outlets including The Sydney Morning Herald have reported that Jetstar staff are to conduct a series of strikes beginning on 13, 14 and 15 December 2019.

This event is now widely reported in the media and any policies that may offer cover for the industrial action will no longer offer cover for claims that arise from any associated industrial action for policies purchased after:

  • 1:00pm UTC/GMT on Monday 9 December 2019
  • 12:00am AEDT on Tuesday 10 December 2019
  • 2:00am NZDT on Tuesday 10 December 2019

Note: Cover offered by travel insurance policies issued and managed by nib Travel Services (Australia) Pty may vary. Please read your policy wording for full details of cover.

If your travel plans are affected:

  1. Contact your airline, cruise or tour operator to check if tourist services are affected.
  2. If you need to change your travel arrangements, contact your airline, cruise company or travel agent for assistance in the first instance. Refer to your policy wording for more detail or contact our Customer Service Centre to discuss your plans before making any changes.
  3. In the event of a claim covered by your policy, you must do everything you can to minimise and reduce the cost of the claim and provide all supporting documentation of the event and expenses incurred. If you intend to submit a claim, please complete the claim form and if you need help doing this, contact us.

Customer service

0800 843 843 from Australia or +61 2 8263 0471 from Overseas.

Monday to Friday
10:00am - 10:00pm

Saturday
11:00am - 7:00pm

Sunday
Closed


Emergencies

Call +61 2 9234 3123 - Worldwide 24/7